Browse


Narrow Search

Feature
Role
Can't find what you need?
Contact Us

Reset Search
    Search Knowledge Base
 
Article

Deactivating/Deleting Users

« Go Back

Information

 
Summary
-
Previous: Managing Licenses for Installed Packages

You can't delete a user, but you can deactivate an account so a user can no longer log in to Apto.

  1. From Setup, click Manage Users | Users.
  2. Click Edit next to a user's name.
  3. Deselect the Active checkbox and click Save.

Consider the following when deactivating users:

  • Deactivated users lose access to any records that were manually shared with them, or records that were shared with them as team members. However, you can still transfer their data to other users and view their names on the Users page.
  • Deactivated users are removed from the default opportunity and account teams of other users. The deactivated user's default opportunity and account teams are not removed.
  • If a user on an account team has Read/Write access (Account Access, Contact Access, Opportunity Access, and Case Access) and is deactivated, the access will default to Read Only if the user is reactivated.
  • Deactivated users continue to own opportunities and appear in forecasts and territories. When users are deactivated, their opportunity forecast overrides, adjusted total overrides, and manage's choice overrides on subordinate's forecasts are frozen. However, the manager of a deactivated user can apply manager's choice overrides to that user's forecasts. Rollup amounts are kept current. If a deactivated user is later reactivated, the user can resume normal work as before. If "Allow Forecasting" is disabled for a user who is deactivated, the user is removed from any territories her or she is assigned to.
  • A deactivated user doesn't count against your organization's available user licenses. However, deactivating a user doesn't reduce the number of licenses for which your organization is billed; you must change your organization's license count to change your billing.
  • You can't deactivate a user selected as a Customer Portal Administrator.
  • You can't deactivate a user selected in a custom hierarchy field even if you delete the field. You must delete and permanently erase the field first.
  • When a delegated external user administrator deactivates a portal user, the administrator doesn't have the option to remove the portal user from any teams that user is a member of.
  • If opportunity splitting is enabled and a user is deactivated, the user is not removed from any opportunity teams on which the user is assigned a split percentage. To remove the user from the opportunity team, you must first reassign the split percentage.
  • If Chatter is enabled and you deactivate a user, the user is removed from Following and Followers lists. If you reactivate the user, the subscription information in the Following and Followers lists is restored.
  • Subscription information can't be restored if you deactivate multiple users that are following each other. For example, user A follows user B and user B follows user A. If you deactivate user A and user B, their subscription information to each other is deleted from Following and Followers lists and can't be restored if you reactivate the users.
  • It's possible for inactive users to be listed as "Created B" users even though they are no longer active in an organization. This can happen because some system operations create records and toggle preferences, acting as an arbitrary administrator user in your organization to complete the task. This user may be active or inactive.
  • You can't deactivate a user if they're assigned as the sole recipient of a workflow email alert.
NoteTo view the hover details for a record, users must have the appropriate sharing access to that record, as well as the necessary field-level security for the fields in the mini page layout.

Feedback

 

Was this article helpful?



   

Feedback

Please tell us how we can make this article more useful.

Characters Remaining: 255

 

Apto